CONCERT REVIEW | Schubert, Mahler, etc. | London Symphony Orchestra/Kožená & Rattle | Barbican, London | "Rattle’s sensitivity proved to be a judicious outcome given the inward nature of these works"

United Kingdom: London Symphony Orchestra, Magdalena Kožená (Mezzo-soprano), & Sir Simon Rattle (Conductor). Reviewed at Barbican Hall, London on 11 January 2018.

Schubert, Symphony no. 8 in B minor "Unfinished", D.759
Mahler, Rückert-Lieder
Handel, Agrippina: Pensieri, voi mi tormentate
Handel, Ariodante, HWV33: Scherza infida
Handel, Ariodante, HWV33: Dopo notte
Rameau, Les Boréades: suite

Sir Simon Rattle, © Oliver Helbig

Sir Simon Rattle, new music director of the LSO from last autumn, presented an evening flanked with works never played before their creators' own presence. Schubert’s B minor symphony opened the concert. Whether one believes the work was left or discovered unfinished may come down to one’s taste of fancy. Yet the work is unquestionably a daring masterpiece in its awe and charm. The sensitive and controlled approach of Rattle displayed a chamber-like intimacy, a striking disparity to the extrovert image the conductor often carries...

Read the full review on Bachtrack

Young-Jin Hur