CONCERT REVIEW | Dukas, Rachmaninov & Berlioz | Philharmonia Orchestra/Kozhukhin & Järvi | Royal Festival Hall, London | "the tuttis had colour and swing, and the climax copious yet far from overwhelming"

United Kingdom: Philharmonia Orchestra, Denis Kozhukhin (Piano), & Paavo Järvi, (Conductor). Reviewed at Royal Festival Hall, London on 3 June 2018.

Dukas, The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Rachmaninov, Piano Concerto no. 3 in D minor, Op.30
Berlioz, Symphonie fantastique, Op.14

Paavo Järvi © Kaupo Kikkas
Paavo Järvi, © Kaupo Kikkas

If Romanticism implies evocation of the supernatural and virtuosity of playing, one could say that the evening’s program, led by Paavo Järvi, was indeed a very Romantic one. From the atmospheric opening of Dukas’ The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, a symphonic poem inspired by Goethe’s poem of the same name, Järvi instilled a spirit of unhurried grace...

Read the full review on Bachtrack

Young-Jin Hur