CONCERT REVIEW | Shostakovich | London Symphony Orchestra/Benedetti & Noseda | Barbican, London | "all any Shostakovich enthusiast could have wished for, full of zest and a smirk"

United Kingdom: London Symphony Orchestra, Nicola Benedetti (Violin), & Gianandrea Noseda, (Conductor). Reviewed at Barbican Hall, London on 24 June 2018.

Shostakovich, Violin Concerto no. 1 in A minor, Op.77 or Op.99
Shostakovich, Symphony no. 10 in E minor, Op.93

Gianandrea Noseda © Steve J Sherman
Gianandrea Noseda, © Steve J Sherman

In a programme mounting two of Dmitri Shostakovich’s most personal of works, it is hardly surprising that each piece contained a wealth of the DSCH motif – the composer’s musical monogram. Yet given the presence of Nicola Benedetti and Gianandrea Noseda, if one entered the Barbican tonight only expecting a musical portrait of the Soviet composer, one would have left with a pleasant surprise...

Read the full review on Bachtrack

Young-Jin Hur